More than 200 members of the regional business community dined on shrimp while networking with over 30 government officials and candidates for office at the Knoxville Chamber’s annual Peelin’, Eatin’, and Politickin’.

The event, held on June 15 at Jackson Terminal, is an opportunity for the business community to express appreciation for the work done by state and local officials throughout the year, as well as a forum to meet those running for a seat in the upcoming election.

“The annual Shrimp Boil is fun way to thank elected officials for their service to the community,” said Amy Nolan, vice president of public policy for the Knoxville Chamber. “It’s also an opportunity for members to share what’s on their mind with current officials and candidates for political office.”

See more from the event and hear from some of the attending officials in this video. 

Government Officials at Shrimp Boil:

Mayor Madeline Rogero, City of Knoxville

Mayor Tim Burchett, Knox County

Brad Anders, Knox County Commission

Sen. Richard Briggs, TN General Assembly

Daniel Brown, Knoxville City Council

Charles Busler, Knox County Commission

Mark Campen, Knoxville City Council

Michele Carringer, Knox County Commission

Carson Dailey, Knox County Commission

Rep. Martin Daniel, State of Tennessee

Rep. Bill Dunn, State of Tennessee

Mike Hammond, Knox County

Rep. Roger Kane, State of Tennessee

Rep. Jimmy Matlock, State of Tennessee

Lt. Gov. Randy McNally, State of Tennessee

Hugh Nystrom, Knox County Commission

John Schoonmaker, Knox County Commission

Ed Shouse, Knox County

Rep. Eddie Smith, State of Tennessee

Marshall Stair, Knoxville City Council

Rep. Rick Staples, State of Tennessee

George Wallace, Knoxville City Council

Dave Wright, Knox County Commission

Rep. Jason Zachary, State of Tennessee

Candidates at Shrimp Boil:


Stephanie Welch, Knoxville City Council


Brandon Bruce, Knoxville City Council

Wayne Christensen, Knoxville City Council

Andrew Roberto, Knoxville City Council

David Williams, Knoxville City Council


Seema Singh Perez, Knoxville City Council


Harry Tindell, Knoxville City Council

Gwen McKenzie, Knoxville City Council